Maisy Card

Short Story Contest

SUBMIT up to 5,000 words

JUDGE Maisy Card is the author of the novel These Ghosts Are Family, which won an American Book Award, the  2021 OCM Bocas Prize in fiction, and was a finalist for the PEN/Hemingway Award for Debut Novel, The Center for Fiction First Novel Prize, and the LA Times Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction. Her writing has appeared in The Paris Review’ Daily, AGNI, The New York Times, Guernica, and other publications. Maisy was born in Portmore, Jamaica but was raised in Queens, NY. She is currently an Adjunct Assistant Professor of Writing at Columbia University and a fiction editor for The Brooklyn Rail.


Poetry Contest

SUBMIT 3 poems in a single PDF

JUDGE Eduardo C. Corral is the son of Mexican immigrants. He’s the author of Guillotine, published by Graywolf Press, and Slow Lightning, which won the 2011 Yale Series of Younger Poets Competition. He's the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Lannan Foundation Literary Fellowship, a Whiting Writers' Award, a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, and a Hodder Fellowship from Princeton University. He teaches in the MFA program at North Carolina State University.


Creative Nonfiction Contest

SUBMIT up to 5,000 words

JUDGE KaToya Ellis Fleming is the editor of Lookout Books and an Assistant Professor of creative writing at the University of North Carolina, Wilmington. She holds an MFA in Narrative Nonfiction from the University of Georgia. She’s currently at work on her debut nonfiction book, Finding Frank, an excerpt from which was published in the Oxford American.


TV Pilot Drama | TV Pilot Comedy
Feature Comedy | Feature Drama

WINNING SCRIPTS WILL BE READ BY Rebecca Rodriguez, talent manager at Curate Management, who has also worked at Gotham Group and Anonymous content. Her list includes storytellers as Lucie Britsch, #1 Amazon bestselling author Elyssa Friedland, award-winning author and journalist Santiago Gamboa, winner of the 2023 PEN/Hemingway Award for Debut Novel author Oscar Hokeah, USA Today Bestselling Author Jessica Joyce, National Book Award and PEN/Faulkner Award finalist Emily St. John Mandel, National bestselling author and podcaster Nora McInerny, and Locus Award Finalist Hannah Yang, among others.

Chosen shorts will show during our Closing Gala in front of producers, agents, and a raucous crowd. These 5 shorts will then be hosted by Filmocracy (part of Hoopla). The filmmakers will also receive two all access passes to the 2024 Conference and a place at an industry Roundtable.



Sci-Fi / Horror /
Fantasy / Animation


Docu / Mockumentary